Negatives and Positives

Today is another one of those days where i just feel like sleeping.  Actually, that’s all i’ve felt like doing since i’ve returned from my vacation before i even left for my vacation.  When i was in Holland, i felt good. I felt healthy for once in my life, even if my never-ending ear problem was bothering me a little.  But now that i’m back, i’ve realized that i’m just stuck in a rut and all i want to do is sleep.  I haven’t felt good since i’ve returned.  I was coughing and sniffling and sneezing last week and now that that’s subsided, my ear is bothering me again and i’m just tired. 

Tired of what?  I just had a vacation and a weekend!  Sometimes i’m just so fed up with myself because i have no reason to be exhausted or be “down in the dumps”.  I mean, a couple of things that i’m not particularly happy with have happend lately, but for the most part, things are actually looking up for me and i’m so excited about that.  But for some reason i just can’t show it or 100% feel it the way i should.  Is something wrong with me?  Is this just a stage of my life?  Why do i have so many questions about where i’m going in life or what’s happening next?  AAAARRRRGGGHHHH!   I really do think it’s true that there’s a quarter-life crisis too.  I think i’m there and have been there for a while now.  When will the answers come?  When will everything start to make sense again?  When will my feelings return? 

What, Sweet World, have you done to get out of a rut or make things better for yourself or find answers?  I need some advice!

9 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

9 responses to “Negatives and Positives

  1. You might try some medition. Yoga, tai chi, something like that.

    Long walks?

    Maybe you need a long lunch and a chat with a good friend?

  2. hi there,

    found you through Wolf’s blog…I DEFINITELY think that there’s such a thing as a quarterlife crisis, I went through it and so did my husband…it actually nearly prevented us from ever getting engaged!!
    I’m not going to offer advice becuase my techniques were to make myself start exercising more and re-read childrens literature from my childhood (think nancy drew not see spot run.) and i know that’s just my weird quirks.

    But, what I will say is that it’s INCREDIBLY common and you are definitely not the only person to feel that quarterlife rut.

    the one thing that I do think is really helpful for everyone is to give yourself 10 minutes a day to worry about what’s coming next…and then just find a way to love what you’re doing now.

  3. oooh, i wish i had some advice. i am feeling that sense of what am i doing? in my life right now. i’ve been feeling it for the last year, and it hasn’t been easy. i want a job i am passionate about, but i don’t know what that is. i want to find my meaning in life again (which i feel has been missing for longer then the past year) but i don’t know how. i want to appreciate everything again, why can’t i? i’ve been talking to my husband about it a lot lately. i think we go through these times in our lives for whatever reason when we are made to question what we are doing. eventually, the answer will show itself. unfortunately for some, it lasts longer then others. but we get out of it.

    for me, part of the reason i started to blog was because i was hoping it would help me find myself again. it’s been a slow process, but i think i am getting there. i hope.

  4. Hey cuz, I went through a little something like that some odd years ago 😦 And I still don’t really know where I’m going in life…even with 3 kiddos and husband. I know my main purpose in life, but as far as everything else…who knows? But, I’m here for ya if you need to talk. I hope you get through this in time, I know you will. Hope that ear gets better too. Love ya,
    Jamie 🙂

  5. i sometimes think that it’s easier to have a mini annual crisis rather than one mid-life crisis. how does one mid-life crisis explain my life?? thanks for visiting our blog!

  6. Well, you have your photography, which I’m assuming is a passion, so it’s probably not the lack of that. When I get down in the dumps, which makes me tired, I go outside in the sun. It’s winter. I wonder if it’s the winter doldrums? You may need sun. Try it. Also, exercise. Take a little jog in the sun. It’ll get the right hormones going. Report back. I want to know if it works. Good luck!

    http://www.GreenerPastures–ACityGirlGoesCountry.blogspot.com

  7. Joe D

    Dear Special K, my good friend.

    You and I are such the animal enthusiasts, that a few answers might just be right under our noses.
    Maybe we should take the advice from our furry friends…

    Animals don’t long for yesterday nor replay bad experiences. They are very good at getting over it if you let them.

    Animals don’t worry about tomorrow. They especially don’t judge today’s happiness by wondering what may or may not happen in the future.

    Animals live in the now. They find joy in the things that actually mean something in their lives.

    Of course things are basically simpler for them…fresh food, clean water, reliable companionship, regular potty breaks ^_^

    I’ve seen dogs smile and cats grin, so I know they’ve got something worked out.

    Pets are one of your great passions, and maybe some of the secrets of a happy life can be found by walking in their shoes (paws).

    Just sharing some thoughts. Take care!

    Joe D

  8. i’m going through something similar. when i find myself wanting to sleep a ton, it is usually bc I am depressed.

  9. Just wanted to say thanks sooo much for stopping by my blog! =)

Leave a Reply

